. Describe one experience you had during your YES program that was meaningful to you. What skills did you gain and learn as a result of this experience that can be applied to a project you’d like to deliver?

My participation in the Individual speech category in my host school has impacted my life in a way I never imagined it would. I have always performed in elocutions and debates in my high school in India. So, my joy knew no bounds when I came to know about speech festival organised by Iowa High School Speech Assosiation every year. My history teacher was our speech team's coach and helped me sign up for the After Dinner category. I had never performed in a comdey category like the after dinner and I was very nervous. I decided to write about myself and the hilarious incidents I experienced since I arrived in my host community and kept my speech's title as An Indian exchange student's journey. I aced in the district level and advanced to the state level. And to my surprise, I aced in state level too and was the only participant from my host school to make it to the All states which is the highest level. I was nominated in the performing category and I was very proud to represent my host school in that prestigious event.