Describe an experience that you visited a friend You should say: Where it was When it was Explain what you like about the experience

A couple of months ago I went to meet my best friend for lunch and she works in a design company, so I met her at her office and she showed me around it before we went out to eat. She is a fashion designer, and her office, or studio, is in a converted industrial building. I think it might have been a warehouse or factory or something like that a long time ago, but it’s since been converted into commercial office space which is rented by various companies. Her office is quite spartan, not much office furniture, but plenty of open space, with a large designer’s drawing desk, an ergonomic chair, some bookshelves with plants, books, and other objects on them. There are lights which hang down from the ceiling which illuminate the different work areas she has organized within the space – it’s very open and airy and she loves working there. I have to admit that I was quite inspired, and envious when I first saw her workspace, I mean my office is nothing like that, it’s more like a cubicle, the usual corporate style, but then I’m not a designer. I would love to have a workplace like my friends – I think it would be such a nicer environment to work in, especially on long work days, which I have a lot of every month when I have to work late. In fact, I prefer to take work home when I’m very busy at work because I don’t like spending so long in my own office, it’s a bit drab and boring. I’d much prefer to have something like my friend has.