Should art be taught to children? is it more important than other subjects

Art has always played a significant role in individuals’ life, cultures, and nations. Through various forms of art, people can learn about countries’ history, values, and beliefs. Therefore, knowledge and taste of art should be passed down through generations and taught to children from a young age. However, I do not think that it ought to be more important than other subjects. School disciplines should definitely include art courses. This is extremely important for a child's development because it positively influences all parts of the brain, such as those that account for creativity, memory, analysis performance, and fine motor skills. Art should be taught as history as well as practical lessons. History subject will inform children about legendary artists, how art was influenced by culture, and, alternatively, how culture was changed by art. Moreover, it broadens the overall mindset of a child. By contrast, practical lessons will develop hard skills, new interests, and hobbies. In spite of the evident benefits of art subjects, in my opinion, it should not be treated more importantly than other courses. Such subjects as languages, science, maths, and history also influence the development of a child. Hence, schools’ curriculum ought to be balanced and comprise of various subjects. This way children can study everything for some time and later decide on their true interests and passions and shift focus to those disciplines. In conclusion, art is an unexceptional part of a society, for this reason, it has to be included as a subject for children to learn. However, it should be taught on an equal scale with other subjects in order for children to gain broad knowledge in various disciplines.