Describe an animal, a habitat or a natural place that people are working to protect. Explain why it should be protected.

In this day and age, while the breakthrough of technology is flourishing, the environment stands at a tipping point in the climate emergency, for example in 2019 the Amazon wildfire burned 906 thousand hectares to the ground. Such calamity is heartbreaking especially when it happened to the lungs of the Earth. Accordingly, collective effort must be implemented to reverse the situation for the Amazon due to its biodiversity and significance to human’s survival. First and foremost, the Amazon is home to a diversity of plants and flora. Despite covering only around 1% of the planet's surface, the Amazon is home to 10% of all known wildlife species, as well as many more that we don't yet know about. This lush vegetation forms a verdant rainforest that stabilises the climate and sustains the water cycle. Forests also absorb excess CO2 in the atmosphere, hence act as an air purifier and conditioner to diminish greenhouse effect strain on the planet. Moreover, the Amazon is also a habitat for an extensive array of wild animals. It supplies a vast natural shelter and a boundaryless source of food that no zoo or national park can replace. In addition, Amazon is also the motherland for hundreds of indigenous tribes who live completely dependent on their local surroundings. Some of them have never been exposed to the outside world, however, their home is on fire partly due to modern people. Last but not least, the biggest rainforest in the world is also the source of livelihood for billions of people all over the globe. To recapitulate, Amazon requires a bolder act and a more strategic plan to preserve its wildlife and ensure human activities in this area. Besides the government’s investment, each individual can contribute to the conservation of Amazon by donating to environmental funds and organizations.