which is more important, protecting old building or building new ones

In recent years, the topic ‘architecture’ has never failed to attract the crowd’s attention and spark controversy. Some adopt a view that it is more important to build new ones for economic improvement’ while others think conservation of traditional ones are more meaningful. However, to the best of my knowledge, each has both merits and demerits. Therefore, we should consider both sides carefully before we make a decision. Discussed below are several factors supporting my perspective. Foremost, people should realize that building is one of the most important parts of people’s life both economically and socially. It is clear that since the history of humanity’s civilization, the functions of buildings also developed. There are many reasons that we need to care about construction of new buildings. Firstly, it is more convenient. You can see clearly that the newly built apartments have most of things we need for work and leisure such as parks, gymnastics inside. Secondly, newly built buildings have a better sense of safety. Since it is constructed by strong materials with improved technology, it is tolerant to any dangers such as strong wind, heavy rains or even natural disasters. One typically good instance is that buildings in Japan nowadays are constructed to bear tsunamis. Thirdly, newer homes are generally more energy efficient and environmentally friendly. Last but not least, living in a newer house can help you save money due to lower repair and maintenance costs, and less bills used for heating, or electricity However, on the other hand, it is undeniable that newly built buildings have their own disadvantages as well. Firstly, it is quite costly and time-consuming to build new ones. To build new apartments, we need a lot of labour, materials and time that can be used for other purposes. Secondly, the construction process might contribute to pollution and other environmental or social issues. Thirdly, there might be hidden costs (such as associated site costs, landscaping or paying for extras) and uncertainty (like risk of safety). In addition, the old buildings have their own strengths. They are physical remainders of our traditions and cultures, and act as a learning tool for education. Traditional buildings can be a spot for tourism and benefit economy. In a nutshell, it is undeniable that building plays a paramount role in our society both economically and artistically. The quality of structure can be a measure of economic growth. However, everything has two opposing aspects. Concentrating too much on newer structures might lead to loss of our own culture. Therefore, we should balance mindfully between those two aspects and make a suitable decision.