Describe a time in the last two years when you had to defend your opinion. What did you do? Why?

Recently about one month ago I have applied for volunteering and there appeared a question why I should not be a volunteer? And there were two person my mother and brother who were not agree. Both of them considered volunteering as a waste of time. My mother said instead of it you could prepare for biology. At the same time my brother thought that I want to go because of certificate and add that there you would not get any benefits for you. They will do only there works on you. At the six or seven grade once my cousin told me about volunteering and I got really curious about it. Then I made a lot of research on who are volunteers and what are they doing. So now I understand that being a volunteer actually not about wasting time. It's about how I can make our society, town, city or world a better place by our small contribution's on it. It's all about making new friends, peers which want to share knowledge experience and skills, who want to develop themselves from various angles and those who do not want to stay in one place. By becoming a volunteer I will acquire different skills as public speaking, critical thinking, team working, problem solving I said to my mother. These are thing which I would also need at university not only there but in my daily life too mom. Then she looked at me for a while. I had seen through her face how her opinion had changed. I told her all these only because I had a huge passion if it comes to volunteering.