how to deal with peer pressure.

Entering university is a huge step for every student and there are numerous differences between high school and university that students have to adapt with. The problem that almost all students get throughout university, especially in top universities, is the fear of peer pressure, which is the feeling that you do not want to fall behind or not keep up with your friends. Peer pressure is the influence wielded by people within the same social group. It is also the term used to describe the effect this influence has on a person to conform in order to be accepted by the group. Often, peers are thought of as friends, but peers can be anyone of similar status such as people who are the same age, who have the same abilities, and who share a social status. Peer pressure is commonly thought of in a negative light, but in reality, it is actually not always a bad thing. In many situations, peer pressure is used to positively influence people. Learning about acceptable group norms can be a positive part of learning how to live with and socialize with other people. Thus, instead of avoiding or ignoring it, we should move forward and get through peer pressure to develop ourselves. Firstly, do not let peer pressure come on you, you are ready for it. Preparing carefully and making detailed plans for everything you are gonna do are the most necessary. Hardly could you be confident about your work when you know nothing about it. Therefore, you should set up everything clearly and practice your work cautiously, and no one could pressure you, even your peers. Besides, making friends is important and you need to cautiously build friendships with the right people. True friends will not make you feel pressure, they will help you get through it and be good examples for you. People who share your values are less likely to be the people who will bully you into doing things you don't want to do. Not only friends but adults are also people you can count on. Adults may have experienced the problem you are facing, so they will have the right perspective on the problems and help you overcome this pressure Hence, in some difficult situations, you can rely on trusted adults so that they will give you advice from their experiences. Lastly, the most useful tip for you is: “Be yourself and be confident in what you will do. ” The more confident you are, the easier you find the ways to cope with those issues, and the less pressured you may feel. Furthermore, should you be yourself, people will have a good influence on you and you will avoid negative influences from friends around. In short, peer pressure is not always discouraging and you could turn it into motivation to improve yourself. so have the courage to accept peer pressure and get over it.