Describe a custom or tradition from your country that you would like people from other countries or culture to adopt. Explain your choice, using specific reasons and examples from your personal life experience. You must write a minimum of 250 words.

Every country has its customs and traditions which are a reflection of the country itself as people can learn about the country through those cultures and customs. It is quite unfortunate that we sometimes forget about this crucial aspect of our country as a result of chasing a modern lifestyle and faster digital entertainment. In this essay, I shall discuss a custom of my country that I want people from other nations to espouse because I strongly believe it carries a great message about my country. In Bangladesh, which is my home country, we have a major custom which is titled ‘Pohela Boishakh’. It is one of the most renowned holidays, which is celebrated on the first day of the Bangla calendar year. A good number of people gather on the largest squares of every city and town and make merry on the eve of the New Year. People wear red and white Punjabi and Sarees that are traditional dresses. They bid farewell to the yesteryear and pray to God to make the New Year a better one. Bangladeshi people make different types of food items such as traditional cakes and a special fish and rice dish named ‘Panta-ilish’ which is a combination of watery rice, hilsha fish fry and spicy sauce. Also, many people gather in the square and participate in cultural programmes like songs and dances. Some social organisations also arrange book fairs and other traditional fairs where many items related to our Bengali culture are displayed. Moreover, little children enjoy special rides on the fairs and take sweets. In summary, I am confident that ‘Pohela Boishakh’ would benefit many countries all over the world. This is a great opportunity for people to relax, leave their troubles and worries behind and enjoy the whole day. Furthermore, this holiday helps people to connect more, learn about new ideas and share thoughts. In addition to those practical benefits, ‘Pohela Boishakh’ helps people to decelerate their pace of life and enjoy the unique and beautiful moments together.