Pros and cons of skytrain

The Skytrain is very popular in the world today as a means of mass transit. I have ridden the Skytrain many times and have come away with mixed emotions. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of riding the Skytrain On the one hand, Skytrain is very easy to use. Purchasing your ticket is a snap, you have the option of buying a single trip ticket or a stored value card which will give you a certain amount of trips for a certain fare. Becides, It’s convenience and quick way to travel especially during rush hours and traffic jams. Moreover, if you are traveling with a friend or alone, the Skytrain is a fairly inexpensive way to travel. You can save a lot of money and use it for other purposes. Last but not least, it’s also environmental friendly. Since the Skytrain runs on electricity, there is no pollution with harmful gases being emitted into the air. On the other hand, Skytrain brings a lot of drawbacks. Unless one board at one of the terminal stations, you probably will have to stand on the train, especially during rush hours. Although the cars are all air-conditioned, it can get uncomfortable when you are packed. Futhermore, It's unfriendly for the aged and handicapped because if a person in a wheelchair does get on the sky train, there isn't a designated area for the wheelchair to be secured. Many people don't ride the skytrain because it doesn't take them to their desired location, or if it does, it drops them off at a point too far to walk to their destination. For this reason, people will instead take a bus stopping at or close to their desired location. This essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of using sky train to solve the congestion in cities. It is clear that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and sky trains are an effective solution rather than ground and underground commute options.