Some people think that more money should be spent to promote the use of bicycles in cities. Others, however, believe that cities should focus on investing in public transport systems.

It is true that cycling is not only one of the best ways to tackle pollution problem, but also beneficial for our health. However, in my opinion, I would argue that prioritizing the development of public transportation is more crucial. On the one hand, there are a variety of benefits from cycling for both environment and human. One tangible advantage is that encouragement of bicycle use is an effective way to curb the excessive carbon dioxide emission. In addition, less space is needed for bikes due to their simplicity and lightness, which means that people can travel on various types of terrain from main streets to alleyways. Furthermore, along with the eco-friendly characteristic and convenience, cycling also plays an important part in improving our health and keeping us stay robust. The positive impacts on the cardiovascular system are perfect examples of how we can gain our health by cycling. On the other hand, despite these featuring benefits of cycling, public transportation should be the main concern of governments. The most fundamental reason is that public transportation is known to be more common and applicable to everybody. In other words, people who live in suburbs can take advantage of it to go to many different destinations, while the bicycle is only ideal for those who do not travel much. One obvious upside is that the more people commute by public transportation, the less personal vehicles are needed; therefore, this helps to reduce not only the contamination, but also the burden of traffic congestion. Last but not least, by investing in public transport system, there would be a great amount of demand for jobs and clearly a lot of people will benefit from this. In conclusion, I believe that governments should pay more attention to the development of public transportation because this is a vital need for the 1ast-growing pace of our society.