In this day and age, modern families do not have meals together as often as in the past. This problem happens because of some reasons, and it is likely to lead to some effects on families and society.

In this day and age, modern families do not have meals together as often as in the past. This problem happens because of some reasons, and it is likely to lead to some effects on families and society. To begin with, there are several reasons why mealtimes in families are disappearing these days. Firstly, due to the hectic work schedule, people tend to have no time for cooking and preparing meals for all family members. Therefore, each member of the family prioritizes eating meals in restaurants that offer a wide range of food, which helps them save more time to spend on their works. For example, it is common to see that, Vietnamese children living in a family with both parents working, always eat meals outside without their parents. Secondly, the difference in food tastes between family members also prevents them from having time for meals together. For instance, the elderly are more interested in traditional dishes, whereas youngsters prefer fast food. This makes it more difficult to gather the entire family for meals. Finally, cooking skills are not extremely necessary to young people because they are not passed on by previous generations. As a result, family meal gradually disappear in many families. Lacking family meals can result in some negative effects. Primarily, as in terms of family, meals taken together are the great time for all members to confide their opinion, the absence of family meals results in less direct interaction between family generations. This can cause misunderstandings and conflict between family members or even a broken family in the worst-case situation. In addition, several long-term traditions might die out if individuals prefer to have meals outside arranging meals at home as they find it is not necessary to have face-to-face family meetings. For example, in recent years, in many special occasions, especially Tet or Lunar New Year, many young people tend to eat out with their friends instead of attending family gatherings at home. In conclusion, the shortage of mealtime together is caused by several factors and this problem might brings about serious impacts.