Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

New lifestyles and modern technologies require more energy than ever before. The immediate consequence of this is more fossil fuel sources have to be discovered which means discoveries in areas where have not been touched before. Although it provides more sources of energy, its harm to the environment is greater and may cause the extinction of many living creatures. Fossil fuels are the main source of energy in our world. Modern technologies such as computers and robots are fed with energy. The World Bank has predicted that the increment in need for energy by 40% in the next few years. Therefore finding new sources for fossil fuels is essential to be able to cope with this increment. As a consequence more areas have to be covered in search operations for fuels especially where no discovery has been done before. For many, new discoveries on virgin areas means a tremendous thread for the environment. Digging a new oil well will destroy the plants around it and also kills almost every animal around it. Most of the species in danger live in areas where no discovery has been done until now. Therefore, any activities there will be catastrophic and kill the surrounded environment. In conclusion, although the need for more energy requires to search in new areas for new fossil fuel sources, the damage that it causes to the environment is enormous and has to be avoided. Therefore, it is recommended to harvest more energy from wind and sun which are sustainable and environment-friendly.