Decline in the proportion of competent labor force. More Old reach their legal retirement age, less young employees is pumped into labor market, -> encounter a lack of energetic employees fit for physically demanding tasks. Increase retirement age?

People believe that because of mankind’s longer life expectancy in many countries, the percentage of the elderly is exceeding that of younger people. Personally, I would argue that this is a completely negative development. To begin with, one of the most detrimental impacts of old population is declines in the proportion of young competent labor force. As more senior citizens have reached their legal retirement while less young blood is pumped into the labor market, local industries, manufacturing, construction and farming in particular, might encounter a lack of energetic employees fit for physically demanding tasks. Even with jobs that require lower levels of physical activities but more mental work, such as administration and design, decisions and judgment made by senior staff who are fully equipped with long-accumulated relevance experience might be conservative, compared to the young’s innovative ideas and ambition to grasp an opportunity in business. All of these possible downsides could hinder a nation from prospering in the long-term. Furthermore, the financial burden prompted by the growing demand for social welfare but less value created is also a major public concern that several countries are struggling to deal with. To be specific, a long lifespan could result in a longer period of time the government would have to allocate a large proportion of its budget to pay for pension, whereas this must be ensured by a smaller size of functioning labor force. In other words, it is inevitable for the young generation to cope with the pressure from working harder to generate more fortune to feed an increasing number of idle mouths. In addition, the investment in healthcare for the elderly may diminish the available government funding, which can make other vital fields such as education and military suffer from a shortage of income. In conclusion, ageing- related problems resulting from larger size of senior citizens manifest themselves in how a decreasing percentage of young competent labor force and the financial burden on governments and young employees.