Dealth penalty, justified or not?

"Death penalty: An unacceptable violence or means to a better world? " This topic has been a long debated one, especially over the past few decades. Advocates of human rights remain conflicted in their views, on one hand, their moral sense allies them with the perpetuators, while on the other hand, their hearts bleed for the victim's families. Human ethics is a very subjective issue, and the death penalty is no stranger to the principles of ethics. The death penalty is usually issued to people who are convicted of horrendous crimes. Different countries deal with them in different ways, with some countries issuing public beheading as the death penalty for perpetuators of such crimes. The advantages of executing the death penalty is that other people would think twice, before committing a crime. This can be justified with the example of Saudi Arabia publicly dismembering their rapists. The men who are convicted of a rape in Saudi Arabia have their private parts cut-off in public, so as to send a message to other rapists. Studies have shown that this has indeed reduced the rate of rapes in Saudi Arabia. The disadvantages of the death penalty is that, there is always a small chance that the accused might in fact be innocent, despite what the evidence suggests. In case that perpetuator is proved innocent after the execution, the country's leaders have to deal with the fact that they killed an innocent man, and may also have to deal with the riots that might erupt. In my opinion, the death penalty always serves to strike fear in the heart of future offenders. It reduces the crime rate drastically, as evidenced by the decline in the number of rapes in Saudi Arabia. In contrast to the aforementioned country, India does not hang it's rapists. The Nirbhaya rape case that took place in 2012, rocked the entire world in terms of the brutality dished out by the offenders. They stood trial over the following years, and in the end, all of them were jailed. No serious punishment was handed out to one of the juvenile offenders, and he walked out free within five years of committing the crime. This leniency emboldened other rapists, and today, crime against women is one of the most popular crimes committed in India. In conclusion, I believe that the death penalty is a justified manner to deal with people who commit violent crimes. It must be followed by all countries, with extensive investigation into the case. This might lead to a better world in the future, a world where it just might be safe one day, to raise our kids in.