Currently, the voting age is 18. Some people think the voting age should be changed to 21. Write an op-ed piece in which you argue for or against changing the voting age to 21.

There is no shortage of debate about the right age that a person should be able to vote. Without a question, many would think the perfect age is 18; other may consider other point of view and would like to change it to 21. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with the last group: the voting age should be 21. I feel this way, mainly for two reasons I will explore in the following essay. First of all, is my opinion that a eighteen years old person is not mature enough to vote. In this fashion, is important to consider how teenagers present a tendency to express ideas and opinions similar as the ones of their belonging groups, like friends and parents. In other words, the need to belong to a group is such a strong feeling between teenager that, very often, their decisions are under the influence of that group. Thus, teenagers have not the enough maturity to face with responsibility the decision to whom to vote, yet. Secondly, the law lacks of coherence in this topic when allows eighteen years old persons to take some decisions as an adult and prohibit others. To illustrate this idea let' s consider the following example. Today, the law allows voting at the age of 18, but prohibits other actions like drinking alcohol. As many could feel, I think voting the wrong person for president could be as dangerous as drinking alcohol if it is done in an irresponsible manner. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement provides by the topic question about changing the voting age to 21. This is better because the voter would be more mature and less influence by his or her belonging group, and because would bring a coherence in the regulation and law for the limited age' s rights and obligations.