Currently is not available Meet the criteria Doesn't meet the criteria

Although many people consider keeping animals in zoos cruel and should close the zoo, I think the zoo plays an important role in wildlife protection. On the one hand, zoos can be a harsh environment for animals in captivity. The environment is uncomfortable for detained animals because the animals feel they are deprived of their freedom when they are forced to perform and be taken pictures in order to attract visitors to the zoo and make money for the government. There are many wild animals that tourists throw bottles and food in, which affects their psychology and physiology. This is a reason why the animals lose control and attack the visitors or even hurt themselves. This symptom is called Zoochosis. For example, In 2016, a killer whale named Morgan was lying on the wall of the pool for 10 minutes. According to animal conservationists, Morgan's action was like killing himself to escape a bondage-life after 16 years in captivity. On the other hand, I believe that zoos can be useful in protecting animals, especially endangered animals which are unable to survive in the wild. Zoos are the only safe place to feed them nutritious food; keep them safe from poachers, hunters and predators, or help them breed to avoid them becoming extinct. According to a study from the World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA), more than 70% of endangered species taken care of carefully in national zoos have grown normally. Furthermore, zoos help tourists improve the knowledge of animals and raise awareness to preserve certain species. To sum up, although zoos are not perfect places for all animals because locking up animals in such places is a reason causing the symptom named Zoochosis, they are suitable for the endangered animals which are difficult to live in the natural environment.