In comparison to English, Vietnamese has more long vowels and fewer short vowels.

In comparison to English, Vietnamese has more long vowels and fewer short vowels. However, English has a much larger number of vowels than Vietnamese, including single vowels, diphthongs, and triphthongs. There are 24 vowels in English, but only sixteen in Vietnamese. Three single vowels are shared between Vietnamese and English: /i/ as in "sit, " /e/ as in "egg, " and /u/ as in "would. " In addition to these shared sounds, Vietnamese has four more single vowels: /e/ (as in tên "name"), / / (as in m ng) and / / (as in m ng). In terms of diphthong distribution, Vietnamese diphthongs are primarily centering, but English diphthongs are distributed either centering I e, a) or closing (ei, ai, ɔ i, ə ʊ, a ʊ ). In the following section, I will compare and contrast some individual vowels in Vietnamese and English. Students should not confuse the Vietnamese sound /u/ with the English sound / /. In English, the sound / / is more rounded and pronounced backwards than the Vietnamese sound /u/. Some kids are unaware of this fact. So far, I've contrasted Vietnamese and English vowels based on the quantity of vowels, the places and styles in which the sounds are articulated, and certain specific sounds that may cause misunderstanding among Vietnamese English learners. In the latter section of this paper, I'll talk about some of the implications of teaching Vietnamese and English in high school. Vietnamese learners prefer to emphasize the first vowel while pronouncing diphthongs in English, resulting in a "foreign accent" (Lê, 2004, p. 88), or they only say the first vowel in the diphthongs and do not pronounce the second vowel in the diphthongs. Teachers should demonstrate to their students how to pronounce diphthongs and single vowels to avoid this error.