Crime and punishment, discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime and punishment is a discussion, far before I was even born. Others believe that society should have a specific penalty per violation committed, while others don't share the same belief, rather, believing that all crimes should go through a trial to understand why the misbehavior was done. In this essay, I will discuss both sides, and agree on the latter, that there should be a process to consider the situation before one can determine the strength of the stick to use. Having a menu to look at, matching misconduct to punishment will make the whole judging of a criminal process extremely simpler and faster, deterring criminals to even dare commit an offense. A possible future offender, seeing the penalty of misbehavior in full disclosure, indeed, would instill fear in the individual, discouraging him or her to perpetrate a crime. If killing someone, for instance, would have an immediate punishment of the death penalty, then very few would even think or plan of taking someone's life, as it would mean taking his own life in the process as well. However, if the act of killing may have different penalties based on varying factors, then someone may brilliantly devise a way or alibi to get a minimum sentence. Having unchanging punishments for a violation, as such, would undoubtedly discourage individuals to commit one, especially for severe penalties. Having a trial to understand what happened, understand behavior, understand the circumstance, however, is a practice that is proven to be successful in the majority of the countries in the world today. This would ensure that the right amount of punishment is given to the crime, based on certain variations. Going back to the same example of killing someone, however, in this case, knowing that the assailant is under the influence of illegal drugs, may be sent to a rehabilitation facility first, then be given a lower sentence. Additionally, if this case did not go through this process, then one might receive a maximum penalty for merely doing self-defense. Going through a trial to understand different reasons why the crime happened, thus, is a necessary step. In my opinion, while having a one-is-to-one offense to punishment combination provides desirable outcomes, understanding why the situation even occurred is a step that society cannot skip. All factors should be considered, before arriving and determining the appropriate penalty.