How do you understand about the Delta check?

Delta checks are applied to assess specimen integrity and detect error prior to the release of results into the patient record. Several delta check techniques have evolved through different calculation modes, action thresholds, and other criteria based on their purpose. If the variation in the patient sample exceeds the predefined guidelines required for delta checks, the findings are flagged in some way, and the cause may be identified prior to publication. Preanalytical problems, misidentified samples, analytic errors, or changes in the patient's condition may all contribute to erroneous delta checks. If no clear explanation is available, a failed delta-check may indicate an analytical error or an incorrectly labeled specimen. Failed delta-checks in hemostasis should also include an assessment of specimen collecting problems. Results that do not pass a delta-check are isolated until the cause is determined. Delta checks on MCV, red cell distribution width (RDW), hemoglobin (HGB), and platelet count (PLT) may be required by laboratory directors.