Creative artists should always have the freedom to express their ideas (in paintings, books, films and songs) in anyway they wish. The government should not restrict what they do.

It is important that artists have the freedom to express new ideas without too many restrictions from governments so they can challenge the views of society. If too many restrictions are in place, writers and other artists will not be able to express their views publicly and will no longer question societies values limiting the development of society. However, some restrictions may be necessary to protect people and to avoid unreasonable offence. In this essay the importance of artists being able to express their views freely will be discussed. Individuals have the right to express themselves, and artists are no exception to this. If artist’s rights are restricted, they may no longer be able to publicly express their views. This means that the public would receive few new ideas and that society’s current thinking is less often challenged. As a result, people may not become aware of some of the problems in society and therefore important problems may not be addressed. Ultimately, this leads to a society that does not develop as well as it could. For example, the restrictions placed on artists and society in China in the early part of the Ming dynasty led to a more insular society and the decline of Chinese civilization. Restricting artists also means that artists stop producing material such as interesting fashion, pop music and abstract art and that the overall quality of art is reduced. A further problem of reducing freedom for artists is that art becomes less interesting and less relevant to people and a potential flourishing industry that benefits society could be damaged. However, sometimes it is necessary to place restrictions on what artists can exhibit in order to protect society. For example, society needs to protect children from harmful images and in some cases ideas could be so unacceptable that it may be appropriate to restrict them. In this case it may be necessary for government to take action to limit some of these works of art. For example, in the UK a portrait of child murderer Myra that was made from handprints of young children was considered by many to have breached decency standards in that country. In conclusion, it is important that artists have the right to express themselves through their art and governments should not restrict this right unless there are strong public interest reasons to do so.