The death penalty is still commonly used in several regions and should be prohibited worldwide.

There is an argument whether or not to forbid some countries from continuing to use execution. I believe that the death sentence should be kept as the most suitable punishment and the essay will clarify my opinion. First of all, the most visible benefit when criminals are received the death penalty is a lower crime rate. When an illegal action has to pay dearly for its consequence, other criminals will be afraid of how obscure their future may be if they go down this path. For instance, according to the data of the Ministry of Public Security, Vietnam has maintained the crime rate acceptably, after using death punishment for murderers and some special serious offenders for several years. Moreover, a death verdict is considered as an economical way. Life behind bars wastes a large amount of the national budget to provide food, clothes, and space to build prisons. The prisoners normally do not contribute any value to the domestic gross product so execution is an acceptable way to solve the economic calculation. Nevertheless, it does not mean that the death penalty is always optimal. Even if the perpetrator is killed, the victims can not be brought back and the pain of their families is not relieved. They believe ‘two wrongs do not make a right' and may not want to hurt the criminals' families anymore. To conclude, although many people claim to abolish the death punishment, it is necessary to retain the penalty as a rule to ensure a peaceful society.