Countries should produce their own food and import as little as possible.

Thanks to the development of technology in industry, almost all nations nowadays are able to manufacture sufficient food to adapt to the demand of their citizens. Nevertheless, I disagree that countries should import food as little as possible. To begin, every country is not able to produce a diverse number of food for their people. Obviously, geographical location and weather of countries are different, therefore, each nation only has some certain number of kinds of vegetables and animals they can grow and feed well. For instance, European countries can not produce some special types of tropical fruits such as durian, mango as effectively as Asian countries. Therefore, without importation, people who live near the north pole can not enjoy as many special fruits as people who live near the equator. In addition, the most important advantage is that importing some genres of food brings more economic benefits than producing them domestically. This is due to the fact that due to the difficulties in manufacturing, the price of some specific food which is produced in the country is much higher than the importing cost from other countries. As a result, when food has lower cost, more people can buy more food for them and their family, which can reduce famine and improve the living standard of the poor. In conclusion, not only do countries have more genres of food for their residents, but the citizens also can buy at a lower food price, which helps poor people to have higher quality meals. Therefore, although I acknowledge that importing food harms the internal economy in some aspects, I agree that its advantages can eclipse the disadvantages.