Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Differences between nations in terms of their lifestyle, food habit, fashion, choices and traditions have already reduced to a great extent with the effects of globalisation, technology and international agreements for open trade facilities. Since most of the international products are easily accessible globally, people have far more choices and freedom which have enhanced people's lifestyle besides narrowing the gaps among nations. I postulate this trend a positive development and the reasons are explained in this essay. To begin with, the availability of international brands like Apple, Google, Nike, Pepsi, Johnson's, Samsung, Nestle, Unilever, Amazon, Toyota etc. in a country enables consumers to purchase quality products. For instance, someone in India can use the same technological products from Intel and Microsoft that an American uses and it facilitates reducing gaps between these two countries. 'Barrier & gaps' among nations was a predominant reason for conflicts and with the advancement of the technology and mutual trade agreements, nations now know about the foreign cultures more than they did ever before. This diminishes the world tension and helps prevail the peace. Furthermore, affluent countries have created a vast market for consumer products and this has helped them establish offshore offices and factories in developing nations. This is a mutually beneficial agreement that helps both parties. Furthermore, local consumers are not trapped with the low-quality local products and wider freedom lets them enjoy a better lifestyle. With the competition, local manufacturers are forced to produce quality products at a competitive price. With this development, some local companies have gained international recognition as a manufacturer. To conclude, barriers and gaps among nations divide people and create a master-slave relationship as we have already witnessed in history. The present era has plummeted this heinous trend to a great extent and the similar lifestyle and availability of international products have helped this to happen.