Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Many countries are becoming identical in terms of products available to consumers. In my opinion, it is a positive development, and is beneficial to everyone in the society. Firstly, with the availability of global brands worldwide, such as Pizza Hut, people do not have to spend a fortune to consume international foods brand or to buy branded clothes. This means that even middle class people can now afford to purchase, as they are available in the local retail. Because of globalisation, local companies get equal opportunity to cater their product worldwide. As a result, more job opportunities are created. For instance, renowned sports firm, such as Nike and Adidas, manufacture and distribute identical products around the world, providing employment, to the society, particularly in the field of retail, logistics and operation, and in turn increasing their market share and revenue. Secondly, it may assist in regulating the prices in the trade and may ensure fair competition amongst the firm. This is because, with the presence of global brands, local producers would not enjoy their monopoly in the market. In other words, to attract more consumers the prices will be very competitive. For instance, the research conducted by the University of Arizona, states that the prices of grocery decreased by 25% in some urban areas of United States with the establishment of supermarket industries. Finally, with the presence of some products around the world, people may get to know about the different culture, in the form of food and clothes, which was earlier not possible. As a result, there may be a better understanding amongst them. In conclusion, I believe that there are many positive aspects of nation having similar market in terms of products.