coronavirus is relate to viral meningitis?

Enteroviruses are the most significant cause for disease-producing agents with different clinical signs from mild febrile illness or asymptomatic to severe and probably fatal syndrome. For example, paralysis, aseptic meningitis, encephalitis, myocarditis, neonatal systemic infection in both children and adults. Aseptic meningitis outbreaks are more common during the summer and fall seasons, and children and infants are usually exposed to this infection. These sorts of viruses are related to more than 95% of suspected aseptic meningitis cases depending on strict criteria for clinical diagnosis. However, clinical diagnosis and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) analysis are indistinguishable among enteroviral meningitis and other central systems nervous infection caused by other viruses, some bacterial and fungal photogenes. There are a variety of diagnosis ways, which most of them are inaccurate and taking time; for example, viral culture is the 'gold standard' used to diagnose the enteroviruses in CSF, but for the conclusion, it may take a time, even some days. Thus, Real-time PCR is one of the rapid and credible tests for detecting the early course of meningitis, which may shorten hospitalization and prevent unnecessary treatment, including giving antibiotics. Interestingly, the real-time PCR technique has many advantages, such as high specificity and sensitivity, usefulness as a quantitive assay, avoiding contamination, and the ability to yield results rapidly. On the other hand, the rate of virus titers in CSF is low, and the detection and isolation of EVs are difficult. Therefore, the Real-time PCR method is more convenient and sensitive. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus-2 (SARS-CoV-2) is believed to be transmitted through respiratory droplets, aerosols, and contact. Frequent hand washing and social distancing are also recommended for other contact transmitted infectious diseases such as enterovirus infections. According to this, we gathered data from children's' hospital for updated information on notifiable infectious diseases in north of Iran, in comparison with trends of infectious diseases in 2020 to the same period in 2018 and 2019, and observed significant changes for enterovirus infections. Consequently, the mentioned reasons encouraged us to investigate the prevalence of EVs in CSF of children with suspected aseptic meningitis who referred to one of the children's hospitals in northern Iran between June 2018 and March 2021 using real-time RT-PCR technique.