Ageing population has been increasing. What problems and solutions

These days, an increase in ageing populations has been a concern in most industrialised nations. Despite the negative effects caused by this trend, there are several solutions to tackle these problems. Due to the fact that people can expect to live longer than ever before, numerous related issues could be anticipated. The main problem is that there are more people of retirement age who are eligible for pension. As a result, the government will receive less money from taxes, in other words, there is a larger burden on the young adults. In addition, the older people become, the more the governments need to provide them with high-quality healthcare facilities such as nursing homes, hospitals. Besides, young adults also have to look after their older relatives. Regardless of these matters, the governments can take steps to mitigate the consequences. The first measure is increasing the retirement age, from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people at this age have the capability to continue their productive working life. The government also should encourage immigration so the young adults would have more opportunities to get a job and be able to pay taxes. Another measure is that the national budget should be taken from other areas to spend on pivotal public services that serve the older citizens. In conclusion, although ageing populations have some adverse bearings on both individuals and societies, these problems would be improved with appropriate measures.