Controlling companies strategies

Control is an indispensable function of management. Without control the best of plans can go awry. A good control system helps an organization in the following ways: Accomplishing organizational goals: The controlling function measures progress towards the organizational goals and brings to light the surprising mistakes, if any, and points to/shows corrective action. It, this way, guides the organization and keeps it on the right track so that organizational goals might be (accomplished or gained with effort). (ii) Judging accuracy of standards: A good control system enables management to verify whether the standards set are accurate and objective. An efficient control system keeps a careful check on the changes happening in the organization and in the environment and helps to review and revise the standards in because of such changes. (iii) Making efficient use of resources: By exercising control, a manager seeks to reduce wastage and spoilage of resources. Each activity is performed in accordance with predetermined standards and norms. This ensures that resources are used in the most effective and efficient manner. (iv) Improving employee motivation: A good control system ensures that employees know well in advance what they are expected to do and what are the standards of performance on the basis of which they will be appraised. It, thus, motivates them and helps them to give better performance. (v) Ensuring order and discipline: Controlling creates an atmosphere of order and discipline in the organization. It helps to minimize dishonest behavior on the part of the employees by keeping a close check on their activities. The box explains how an import/export company was able to track dishonest employees by using computer monitoring as a part of their control system. (vi) Facilitating coordination in action: Controlling provides direction to all activities and efforts for achieving organizational goals. Each department and employee is governed by predetermined standards which are well coordinated with one another. This ensures that overall organizational objectives are accomplished.