consumerism and how to prevent

Over the years, people mostly keep buying stuff without considering a budget and get into debts by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. It may be due to consumerism which has drastically increased among societies. The first reason which comes to my mind is countries so that industries have become more developed, so they are producing more day by day. As a result, they need to persuade their target communities to buy those products; accordingly, advertisements play a huge part in this process. We can face advertisements anywhere, anytime, whether watching a film or football at home or driving or walking among the street. Though these advertisements are generally in front of our faces, they are sometimes entirely indirect, and some of us as the audience might not see the advertisements by our eyes, but suddenly we feel like a drink or a snack. This is only one of the major reasons people buy lots of stuff every day, leading to consumerism. Speaking of other reasons for consumerism, I would say one of the main reasons for this issue could be related to the fact that the more developed societies are, the more individualistic their people are so that some people are considering consumerism even unconsciously as a way to indulge the sense of absence in their lives. Mostly, civilians come up with having no money and a pile of useless stuff at the end of the month, and some of them might fall into severe troubles, something worse than getting into debt, being completely broken. To control this behaviour, I recommend governments signify the importance of respect for people’s belongings and get help from conservationists to declare all the drawbacks of consumerism and indicate all the hazardous harm people can cause to nature. Meanwhile, the media can reduce the number of advertisements on either TV or websites; also, it can increase people’s awareness by showing some different lifestyles such as minimalism or wabi-Sabi. In the end, I would like to say, controlling, decreasing or even stopping the drastic increase of consumerism is not only the governments or conservationists duty. People should come up with an understanding of the importance of saving nature and setting a budget each month to avoid debts and consumerism.