Consumer behavior has changed considerably in recent years due to technology. In what ways does technology affect consumer activities such as shopping? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, thanks to the development of high technology and the internet, people's lives are becoming better and better. This has lead to lots of changes, first and foremost is the behavior of people in consumerism. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that the benefits of this trend will outweigh its drawbacks. To embark on, it can be easily seen that technology has affected consumer activities a lot, particularly in shopping. First and foremost, in the present day, many entrepreneurs have developed some websites to buy things online such as tiki, shopee, lazada and amazon. And every people, especially the young prefer look for what they need on these websites rather than go to the department stores or supermarkets. Furthermore, when people choose not to go out to buy things, the selling of many retails or stores might be affected. For example, the sellers import many kinds of clothes to make money, however, the buyers do not buy those because they can buy them on the internet and they can be even cheaper than those in a shop. As a result, the clothes can not be sold and this will definitely affect those shops' finance. However, this trend has created a lot of benefits to people's lives too. Firstly, it is much more convenient for people to buy things online than at the shops. For example, some employees can search for what they want on the internet during their break time, and they do not have to go out to such stores. It will definitely be less time-consuming and tiring. Moreover, people can save a lot of money while buying things online, because the things on the internet are definitely cheaper than those in a shop and every shop has vouchers to decrease the price down a little more. This development also creates a lot of jobs for people: every citizen of all ages can sell things online to make a living. On the other hand, buying things online might be bad in some cases, for instance, citizens might order the wrong size of dresses that can not be changed and the things on the internet might not be the same as what we receive when we buy it. To conclude, I personally think that this change has lead to a plethora of things both in people's lives and the consumerism of many stores and shops. As a result, people can save a lot of money and time thanks to this trend, but this development is not really beneficial to the owners of shops in some ways.