Conserving nature while providing water, food and energy for a growing human population is possible. It is not an either-or proposition.

Environmental challenges such as climate change, air pollution, water scarcity pose one of the greatest threats to the existence of mankind as well as biodiversity. However, people are faced with a predicament about whether to sacrifice nature to the needs of a growing human population or vice versa. I believe that even though hardship is to be encountered, people can do better in both conservancy and need fulfillment. One the one hand, there are a number of barriers need to be addressed. Firstly, humans are inextricably linked to the environmental landscape within which our daily lives unfold, but very often people lack the knowledge or the means to manage these resources in an adequate way. Telling everyone to stop exploiting nature if this is their important income source is impossible as humans are not likely to sacrifice themselves to the benefit of others. Secondly, we are witnessing industrial-scale exploitation of the planet in the name of economic growth. This stems from a consumer society that has unsustainable lifestyle, such as taking diets that include eating meat and dairy products with every meal, a growing over-dependence on single-use plastic products. On the other hand, it is possible to strike a balance between conservation and consumption. Heightening public awareness of environmental propositions is of the utmost importance. People should be educated on how to cut down on their utilization of resources. For example, investment in renewable energy is highly recommended. Furthermore, in countries where natural richness is the main income, governments can provide people with alternatives, generate new incomes, teach them ways to manage their resources more sustainably, grow their crops in a more efficient and ecological way. In this way, over-dependence on natural resources is prevented. In conclusion, urgent measure to tackle this problem will pave way for preserving nature while providing for the needs of an expanding population.