Conservation of Historic Sites

Cultural relics and monuments are symbols of our cultural identity and an important part of our collective memory, giving us a sense of cultural continuity and belonging. Hong Kong's heritage buildings and archaeological artifacts reveal our unique past: a unique tradition of Chinese and Western cultures. Preserving these re-creatable cultural heritages will carry on our cultural treasures and pass them on to our next generation. Conservation is often between the old and the new choice, different cities will have their orientation, such as the classic city of Paris, most of the old buildings are not easily demolished, new buildings are also mostly to match the city's appearance, can not be too sudden, to preserve the overall image of the city. On the contrary, most mainland cities, apart from those with more historical backgrounds, have chosen to sacrifice old buildings in the expectation of rapid development. There is no denying that Hong Kong used to be a city that paid more attention to "development", and some local features, such as Tang Building, or modernist buildings, are easy to tear down and build high-rise buildings with economic benefits at high land prices, while colonial buildings have become more sensitive after the transfer of sovereignty, and the Hong Kong Government has been more careful in its handling.