consequences of greediness

once, a rich woman lived in a fine house, given to her by her parents. over time, her health deteriorated and so did her eyesight. ultimately, she became blind. when thus happened, the lady decided to call in a doctor to see if she could still be cured. when the doctor came to her house to check her, he noticed that the furniture in the house was very expensive and antique. he bargained with the lady that if she was cured she would pay him a considerable amount of money, if she was not she would pay him nothing. with this in mind, the doctor came to her home daily and gave her several medicines. then the doctor started bringing her the wrong medicine and avoided fully curing her. this was because, everyday he came to her house, he would take some of her furniture with him. and so, he avoided curing her till he had all that he wanted. after two months, at last he cured her then immediately started demanding his fees. after looking around her house to test her eyesight, the lady refused to pay and said that it was because the cure was not complete. the doctor, in anger, brought a court case on her. the judge listened to the story from the doctor's point of view and then asked the lady why she would pay the doctor. her response was her sight was not fully restored as she could not see all her furniture where it should have been. after hearing this, the judge realised exactly what the doctor had done and gave the verdict in the lady's favour