Computers in the Modern World

Introduction: Computers are used every where in the modern world. These days are digital in nature. Many occupations are linked with computers. It is not even surprising to say that computers are part and parcel of every day life. Digital means of working has become a priority especially in the pandemic times. Importance-Educational Sector Every sector uses computer technology now a days. They have become an essential part especially in the education sector. These computers are serving as a medium to deliver the classes. Due to the pandemic online classes have gained importance. Through the computers teachers are able to teach the students virtually to even remote places. Even the examinations are conducted online which help the institutions save evaluation time. Advantages: These computers serve many purposes in teaching. They are. 1. Flexible. 2. Storage of books and other documents. 3. Virtual access to even remote areas. 4. Saves time of teaching. In addition to the above advantages there are disadvantages with respect to computers. They are Disadvantages: 1. Constant monitoring of student activities. 2. Interruptions in the internet connectivity. 3. Misuse of Internet. 4. Health issues(Eye sight, Psychological). When the classes are taught online, It becomes difficult to monitor student activities by the teachers. It also requires good internet connectivity to have uninterrupted online teaching. The most important of all is about misusing of internet service. Now a days many students are using digital mediums to play online games and also use social medium to chat with friends and even other unethical activities. There have been many incidents which complain about students on loosing money in the online games, Spending more amount of time chitchatting even with strangers. Conclusion: These days it is quoted that "It is not world war 3 but the cyber war which is evolving now a days". Using computers has both pros and cons. It all depends on the usage. A limited usage of computers impact students in a positive way. But If utilized unethically It can ruin the life of a student. The parents should always monitor the activities of their children in the online medium and counsel them if required.