“Computers do not help children learn effectively. The use of computers at schools has a negative effect on children’s physical and mental development. ”

Some people argue that the use of computers at schools has a detrimental effect on children. Whilst I can see that there may be problems with using computers at schools, I disagree very strongly that the overall effect has been negative. Some people claim that computers do not help children learn effectively. Given the incredible range of things – from games to information – available with the use of computers, I find this hard to believe. It is true that some children are likely to become distracted from their studies by other things they find on computers, but this is a question for teachers and discipline, not a problem with the use of computers in the classroom. At school, computers can help children develop their problem-solving, communication and mathematics skills, to name just three. The effect on their mental development is much more likely to be satisfying and enjoyable than tedious and ineffectual. It is a similar situation when people say that computers have negative effects on children’s physical development. Of course, if children are placed in front of computers for the entire school day, every school day, they are likely to suffer, but this is not how computers are used by teachers and schools in reality. Computers are most likely to be used where they provide the greatest benefits. If we truly think that teachers are so incompetent that they cannot reasonably judge when to use computers in class, we shouldn’t send our children to schools at all! Therefore, I see no reason for the discontinued use of computers at school. There are many useful, innovative ways that computers can benefit children by developing their skills and abilities. Of course, this is not to suggest that computers be used for every class!