Visiting Supplier in India

Working at a big international company, we were working with suppliers from all over the world. Once, we had a quality issue with components produced by one of our suppliers in India and we were asked by our management to visit and audit this supplier. My colleague and I were never in India that why it was a new experience for us. The colleague with whom I was travelling was a young woman. After a long flight, when we finally arrived at our hotel, we went to the reception to check-in. Check-in was a pretty long procedure since it was hard for them to understand where we were coming from. After the successful check-in, one of the hotel employees took our luggage even if we were not asking for them and brought them to our rooms. When we arrived at our rooms, this person started to show us how the hairdryer works, how to switch on and off the TV, where the towels are located etc. After 10 mins of a show, I asked him to leave the room. He left but was not very happy about it. We stayed at the hotel on the first day to recover after the jetlag and prepare for the meeting. After internal alignment, we sent out a detailed agenda and asked the supplier if it was okay for them but unfortunately could not get any feedback. Our hotel was about 30 km from the supplier production site, and the start of the meeting was scheduled for 8 am. After breakfast, we asked for a taxi and left the hotel at 7 am since 1 hour for 30 km drive should be more than enough. Unfortunately, we were not counting with traffic in India and stuck in the traffic jam for 3 hours and arrived only at 11 am. We were feeling terribly sorry and apologizing for being late, but the supplier was not complaining about it. After the first meeting, we went to the production in order to audit the production line. In order to enter the production, we had to wear safety shoes. When my colleague asked for 38 size shoes, they were confused and could not find anything less than 41. She took it and we proceeded to the production. At the end of the audit, we went to the canteen to drink some water. When we entered everybody, who was there stopped talking and tried not to look at us. At the end of the audit, when we discussed problems we found during the audit and asked regarding action to improve it, they were wiggle by their heads, so it looked that they understood us and would fix the issues accordingly. After returning home, we shared our findings with management and expected improvements from the supplier as soon as possible since we agreed on the plan. After several weeks we contacted the supplier to understand where the improvements are standing and realized that nothing happened and the quality of their product did not approve. So, since nothing changed, we had to replace this supplier with another one.