Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the last century the invention of computer was a total breakthrough. Furthermore, i would say that this discovery was without doubt the most important in the recent one-hundred years and in this essay i will discuss why, taking into consideration another important discovery as well. It is generally true that computers have given to humanity a lot of opportunities that improved and are still improving our lifestyles and our health. Furthermore, computers permit to science to achieve some progresses in fields such as medicine, engineering, that were even impossible to imagine one hundred years ago. As an example, hospitals have uncountable devices and tools which possess hardware and software that derive from computer technology. In this case, we would not be able to use radiography, TAC and technologies which in most cases save our lives. On the contrary some people would argue that internet was the most important invention in the last century. Almost every person in the world not only has internet access, but also is able to keep in contact with their friends and parents, even if they are thousands kilometers away. Moreover, internet has shown us its importance during this particular period of history, when a global pandemic is going on: students are being able to study online and most people are working online as well. In the end, if the internet had not existed, now we would have faced a war against a virus, completely isolated from the rest of our personal contacts. In conclusion, i dare say that it is important to account internet for being a constant part of our lives and a very powerful tool in lots of fields such as university, work, television. Nonetheless, if computers had not been invented a hundred years ago, internet would not have simply existed. In other words, internet is a technology which bases itself on computer technology, so this is why i see computer as the most revolutionary discovery from our recent past.