Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children.

In this fast moving world technology has increased by leaps and bounds. With increased technology there are lots of advancement in computer games which are widely popular amongst the teenagers. Some people opine that it has some value and teaches skills while others argue that it has negative impact on child’s growth. I disagree that it has harmful effect in teenager’s upbringing which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. To commence with, computer games have evolved to a new level in this era of artificial intelligence and technology. Certain games require lot of focus and quick decision skill to play and the consequences of that game will be that children’s cognitive function will improve. There are tons of games in which they have to play in a group therefore it also increases their communication skills as well as their group bonding. Most of the computer games require hand eye coordination which can help develop their mental strength. In some game’s players have to outsmart the artificial intelligence to win therefore depending on the age of the gamer and the game it is very likely there are legitimate cognitive gains. Also In the recent years online gaming has emerged as a new sports which can give lots of opportunities to teenagers to earn. Lots of new teams are getting formed around the world for international gaming contests. On the contrary, to cope with their friends or enemy’s score teenagers play games for extensive hours which causes harm to their physical as well as mental health. Mobile phones and computers are leading causes for sedentary lifestyle in teenagers and as a consequences it leads to obesity which is the major health problem. Playing games is the least active mode of entertainment. It would be more beneficial to them to learn different skills, playing outdoor games, spending quality time with family. Agglomerating all the points elaborated above I disagree that Computer games are harmful for children’s. It has lots of pros compared to cons but to reduce its over usage it should be played under their parents’ supervision until they are adults.