Compulsory Military Service

Imagine you are 18, and you must serve as a soldier for your country for almost two years. How do you feel? Are you sad or excited? You are going to read some about compulsory military service and its pros and cons in this paper. In our country only boys have to serve in boot camps, and it is not just for us. Some countries like South Korea have this issue. As a matter of fact, some countries make both genders spend their time in the boot camps, like North Korea and Israel. In addition, it can last seven years for girls and ten years for boys in North Korea. So, should we say hallelujah for that? In contrast, in some countries like Norway and Argentina, people don’t have to spend their time to learn how to fight in a war, and they serve voluntarily. Can you believe that? Let’s see what makes serving as a soldier annoying and disgusting. First of all, some people think that going to boot camps just wastes time, and they can do a lot of useful things during the two years. They believe this issue pushes back on their lives. Another problem is that most of high-ranking people humiliate young soldiers, and make them depressed. Some soldiers commit suicide during the serving because of loneliness, feeling ashamed and having no hope. I remember some soldiers had been kidnapped and killed near the border of Iran and Pakistan by terrorists couple years ago. Most of these sad stories remain at the boot camps, and people never hear about them. Some people postpone this issue by going to university, and they study and study until they get Ph. D. In our country, if you don’t serve in the boot camp, you cannot find a job, get passport and go abroad and… On the other hand, some people believe that compulsory military service makes young people complete. They think that everyone needs to know how to fight in a war. They tell that if military service becomes voluntary, no one serves anymore, and country becomes defenseless. They believe that young people don’t have any experience in life, and they are somehow spoiled and coward, and the service may make them ready for life that is brutal and rough. Some punishments like sending soldiers to cells because of their mistakes that they make during the service like an error in marching or playing drums, can prepared them for life. Plus, they can make a lot of friends in the boot camps, and it can make this issue easier. In my opinion, I don’t think serving have any positive points, and I can write two more pages about its disadvantages, but I’d rather not. I think that if government prepare some conditions like increasing salary of serving, and make it voluntary, country won’t be defenseless, and we will have professional soldiers. Now it’s time to answer the question that you read at first.