Competitions among high school students should be encouraged. Do you agree?

Competitiveness at high school has become one of the welcomed things. While I agree that life without cometitiveness would be boring, teachers should be careful and even cautious applying it at school. Firstly, supporting a competitive spirit in students at the young age would help them to develop their knowledge and skills. Such pupils are more likely to have an academic success, since they put more effort to it and willing to improve their skills to do their best. Furthermore, a good sense of competitiveness will help youngesters in taking job opportunities easily once they have reached adulthood and have a good career. Thus, it is important to encourage competition among high school students, because it would help them to succeed in school work, as well as in their future career. However, teachers should create a safe environment and be really careful with setting competitions among teenagers. First of all, some students have problems with an anxiety, so because of the competitions they would feel a pressure, and this will influence on their grades badly. Also, a great number of youngsters have a lack of confidence and they could easily give up on studies and start doubting themselves. As a result, some students can even suffer mentally and academically from forcing them to take part in competitions, so it is vital for teacher to do it carefully.