In many countries people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

At the outset of new millennium, mankind is more intrigued by the life in metropolis, which include migrating from rural areas to urban areas. Some people make this decision due to the prevelance of job oppertunities, while others settle there due to good educational and health-care facilities. However, this also brings about some drawbacks, such as decline in agriculture practices and increase in population in cities. To begin with, one of major reason for migration of people from villages to cities is the ample of job oppertunities. This is because, majority of companies build their head offices within city areas, which opens up plenty of working options for the employees. To illustrate it further, the skills of people working in cities are enhanced and they can have more growth in there career. For example, the teenagers migrate from Indian villages to cities with the hope of getting well-paid jobs. Another reason behind moving from rural to urban areas are not only the better educational facilities but also the internationally accredited hospital. For example, delhi has big hospitals like Manipal, AIIMS and Fortis. Therefore, people migrate city to have a good satandard of life. On the downside, this mass migration is leading to huge impact on some important sectors. Firstly, the agriculture sector is majorly effected. As the youth has shifted to modern cities, no manpower is available which has lead to drastic decline in crop production. Thereby, ultimately causing scarcity of food. For example, due to migration of farmer families from Punjab to Delhi has caused reduction in food supplies by 89 percent. Secondly, the migration has caused population explosion in urban areas. Therefore, causing increased traffic congestion and owercrowded hospitals. To recapitulate, that there are undeniable evidences that due the higher probability of getting lucrative job oppertunities, better medical facilities and high ended education more people prefer living in a metropolis, which in turn, destroys the agricultural side and cause population explosion in cities.