Does career success determine success in life

It is widely believed that to have a meaningful life, we should be successful in our careers, as work is the most significant part of our lives. I strongly disagree with this belief and am actually astonished that we still have this mindset. Before I proceed with my justifications, I would like to define what success means to me and what is my image of a meaningful life. For me success does not mean living in a mansion, driving the most elegant vehicle possible and having a team of domestic helpers. This simply reflects having a high ‘standard’ of living. However, it is substantially different from having a high ‘quality’ of life, which is what truly matters. A high quality of life can be achieved even in a modest home with minimal belongings, as it is dependent on relationships. In my dictionary, success means achieving excellence, happiness and peace in all dimensions of relationships – with myself, with God Almighty, with my family, with other people and with nature. Coming back to the topic being discussed, consider a person who is highly invested in his career. He is committed to his profession, works late nights and often over the weekends as well. He is considered the model employee and is habituated to winning awards and promotions. He has been able to purchase a penthouse with the view of the sea and drives a Ferrari. When he goes back to his beautiful house, he wonders why it does not feel like home. He wonders about the last time he met his parents and about the amazing times he had spent with his now divorced wife. He invites his best friend to come over but it doesn’t happen. He wonders why he doesn’t feel happy when he has everything he ever dreamed to have! Consider on the other hand, a stay-at-home mom who once had a high-flying corporate career, or the entrepreneur who invests all the profits to build a school. They may not have the mansion and flashy car, but they have a meaningful life where they are able to have a positive impact on someone’s else’s life. In order to achieve success in our careers, we often make many sacrifices in our relationships. Our priorities are confused and we are unable to achieve a work-life balance. This leaves us lonely, melancholic and depressed. We need to therefore redefine the concept of success in order to make our workplaces stress-free and our lives meaningful.