Competition is the pathway to success

“It is nice to have valid competition; it pushes you to do better” this is a quote from the founder of Versace, Gianni Versace. Although the current society is starting to view competition as something negative, it is undeniable that competition has been the driving force behind many notable achievements. Without competition, the internal strive to advance oneself would be diminished and everyone would settle for only mediocrity. Therefore, I am of the view that competition is crucial to achieving success. This is because competition is a driving motivator, competition encourages interaction and competition boosts creativity and innovation. First and foremost, competition is a driving motivator that leads us to success. It adds pressure and that will keep us focused on our goals. Generally, we are less inclined to give up if we know our rival is catching up to us. For instance, The Space Race, which was a rivalry between the Soviet Union and the United States, has actually led to one of humankind’s greatest achievements which was putting a man on the moon. Hence, this is proof that competition makes us overcome our obstacles and persevere, it pushes us to our furthest limits. Furthermore, the existence of rivalry encourages interaction that is essential in succeeding. It is a catalyst in building relationships. Notably, this is shown in this quote by Abraham Lincoln “A friend is one who has the same enemies as you have”. Consequently, many alliances were formed to achieve a shared goal as competition brings people together. For example, in sporting events such as the Olympic Games, it is a time where everyone puts aside their differences and come together to support their team. Moreover, the sense of pride they have results in them giving encouragement to each other to succeed. In brief, interaction and support prompted by rivalry contributes to success. On top of that, creativity and innovation which are necessary qualities for success is stimulated by competition. As when we compete, it will encourage us to become more inquisitive, research independently. In turn, we will strive to do more than is required, reaching new heights just to overcome our rivals. Many companies adopt innovative business strategies to stay ahead of the competition. For illustration, Apple sets itself apart from the crowd by thinking differently in designing their products. They put more focus on the designs of their products compared to other tech companies. As a result, many other tech companies have been trying to copy the design of their products such as the iPhone. In short, competition breeds originality and it will pave the way for success. In a nutshell, competition is essential in motivating individuals, businesses and nations to give their best. In addition, it also encourages people to interact and form alliances and it drives people to reach new heights in all kinds of sectors. Thus, competition that is inherent in humankind is an integral part of achieving success