Competition among friends usually has a negative effect on friendship.

Undeniably, friendship is an immense asset for every person, and all people tend to keep their intimate friends and close relationship with them. In this line of thought, when it comes to contemplating the effect of competition among friends, I think every little rivalry between two friends has a detrimental impact on their relationship. There are many reasons, two of which I will explore in the following paragraphs. To begin with, competition amongst friends sows the seeds of lying which has a deleterious toll on their relationship. To be more specific, on the one hand, every long-lasting relationship should be based on some crucial elements, and without a shadow of a doubt, truth is the most important element to have a good relationship. On the other hand, being in a competition, friends start to lie to each other in order to dissuade the other one from doing any activity to keep up with their rival. As a result, after a while by repeating such lies integrity and truthfulness will disappear, and friendship gets hurt. For instance, when I was in high school, one of my intimate friends had a competition with me to reach a higher GPA. I remembered that she told me a lie, asserting that our exam is much easier than we thought, according to our teacher, so I postponed my assignments to the last night before the exam, and I could not get a good score. After revealing her lie, I broke up with her. To add, being a loser in competition would provoke a sense of hostility affecting the friendship negatively. To put it in other words, every rivalry from the biggest ones, Olympic games, to the smallest one, competition between friends, always has a winner and a loser. People rarely embrace failure, and they inherently tend to be the winner. Consequently, ending the competition, the loser one has a feeling of resentment and develops hatred toward the winner person. Needless to say, such a feeling definitely harms the relationship among friends, because friendship is always full of pleasant senses. For example, my brother has no longer one of his best friends, because after my brother got a promotion in their workplace, his friend could not bear such a success. As result, implying inappropriate behavior and hearing jealousy words from him, my brother broke up with him.