Compared to our parent’s generation, life has become much more stressful. As a result, stress-related illnesses are on the increase around the world. <br><br> Why is stress such a problem in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

Nowadays stress has become a serious problem than it was in the past. Over the world, many different diseases are caused by stress. In today’s world, some people ask themselves why stress is such a big issue as well as how to reduce it. This essay will discuss the causes to stress related illnesses and solutions to deal with this problem. In the highly competitive environment stress is an illness that experienced approximately everyone because of modern tension and pressure whereas before individuals had fewer issues to think about. For example, our generation works longer hours and bear a heavy workload in comparison with the past generations. The business competition will be more serious in the future and as a result, more and more people will suffer from stress-related issues. The increasing competition and challenges in every field of life, lack of family and social bonding, increasing expenses, political instability, international tension, environmental pollution, longer working hours, high expectation and dependency of technology everywhere are some of the main reasons the stress related problems are so high these days. In comparison with the past when people did not have to think about the existence of stress, nowadays it has become a global problem. People had the same diseases in the past but they did not know for sure what the causes were. Recently the cause was found – the stress which is a serious threat to the wellbeing of human and leads to many negative symptoms that exhaust a person’s body and mind. With the less population, the competition was lesser and the environment was better in the past. That’s why they had comparatively less stress in their lives. The key to a stress-free life is being contended with whatever we have. If we can be happy with whatever we have got and aspire for a bright future, we will definitely have less stress related issues. Everyone must maintain a balanced work and social life in order to lessen the amount of stress related problems they suffer. Getting engaged in physical activities and hobbies can be another solution to address this. The employers should reduce the working hours and arrange other facilities to reduce the amount of pressure the employees feel in the workplace. Our social and family bonding can also help us to fight this problem to a great extent. There is no doubt that over the last few years stress has become one of the major reasons for serious illnesses such as heart diseases, asthma, obesity, diabetes and headaches. For this reason, ideas like relaxation centres, aromatherapies and massage centres have emerged and they can help people to reduce their mental pressure. Doing exercises, communicating with friends and families or organising a hobby will make them happier and busier in the daily routine. To sum up, life has become more stressful for our generation than the past generations and thoughtful measures could be taken to address this issue including strong relationship, engagement in activities, and working smarter than working harder and for long hours.