Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective. • comics • books • radio • television • film • theatre

In our daily life, we often switch our choices between books, television and films to use them as a medium for information communication. They all have their own importance in our society, but in the modern world, I think that the television is the most effective way of communication. Television, being a great invention of science and technology, has both benefits and drawbacks. One of its major advantages is that it has converted the whole world into a global village. Due to its fast speed of conveying information using satellites and radio waves, it is a way of spreading news in each home. People can watch a live broadcast of news and other entertainment, for instance, sports, dramas and talk shows etc. Children can enjoy cartoons in their leisure time. But spending too much time watching TV and sitting idle can cause health problems, for example, weak eyesight, obesity and even insomnia. TV also gives liberty to children to watch adult content. Books, on the other hand, are very useful to enhance knowledge related to certain fields. Moreover, books are also essential to polish language skills both for native and non-native speakers. The only con associated with books while communicating information is that it takes a lot amount of time as compared to TV, delivering the same information. Turning to films, which are now taking place of books in a modern world. It comes out that most of the world's famous movies are scripted from the least famous books. Such as film 'Die Hard' has its source from book 'Nothing Last Forever' and the film 'Rambo: First Blood' from the book 'First Blood'. Films often overshadow their source if directed effectively. Another good aspect of the film is that it takes about 2 to 3 hours to convey the whole story rather than publishing 200 to 300 page book, which takes about 2 to 3 weeks to be read. But it is argued by some people that it gives children a chance to watch prohibited content. In conclusion, I would like to say that all three mediums of communicating information have their own unique benefits alongside disadvantages. You cannot formally educate students through TV, but by books. Also one cannot convey daily news updates by books, but by TV.