Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

In today's world, various media and our dependency on them have become quite significant in our life. I believe media like television, radio, book, film, theatre and comics have different advantages and disadvantages as they have subtle differences in the way they convey a message and communicate information. The discussion about the positive and negative aspects of three media- TV, radio and books, will be explained followed by my opinion about the most effective medium and finally, a rational conclusion will be drawn. First of all, as a modern medium, television has become a part of human life. Most people nowadays have this medium as the tool to get useful information. Even for entertainment, they rely on their TV sets. There is scarcely any house that does not own a TV set. However, it can make people passive, as the viewers just sit on their chairs to watch it. In addition, research shows that TV programmes are addictive and can be a huge waste of time for many. Secondly, radio has an important value in human life too. This tool is helpful for visually impaired people and interestingly we can work and enjoy radio at the same time unlike TV and carry it with us everywhere we go.   In contrast, radio signals are sometimes weak and limited only in a specific area. Over time this medium is losing its popularity. A book not only shares invaluable information but also contains the facts. Data collected from the past are stored in a book and this is the base for future research. The books help people widening their mind, enhancing their knowledge and learning new things. The books are so far the best medium for communicating information- generation to generation, past to future and are the base of our modern civilisation. I personally think that this is the most effective medium so far and will remain so for many coming generations. Except for the time and patience it requires, I do not find any disadvantages in reading books. From the above discussion, it can be concluded that every medium has its own advantages and demerits. In addition, books are the most effective media they can widen human's minds and convey knowledge from one generation to another.