Compare and contrast distance education with conventional education.

In this modern world, success is evaluated by the education and profession an individual possesses. In spite of having jobs, people still aspire to get further education in order to better their prospectives. Although the exponents of regular education have vociferously expressed their misgivings about it, the concept of distance education is gaining popularity. Both the ways of gaining education have certain similarities and differences. First of all, considering the similarities, the purpose of conventional education and distance education is imparting knowledge. The students in both the study styles are provided with quality study material which helps them in understanding and interpreting the course easily and in learning what they need. Such acquired knowledge helps students transform themselves and become skillful with a prestigious degree to fetch better job opportunities. However, there are some differences between both study patterns which create a gulf. The unique selling point of distance education is its flexible learning. In other words, as the learning and earning can go hand to hand, so for the students, attaining a degree without giving up the current job is possible. Whereas, with conventional education, this is not possible. Conventional education too has its own benefits as it is imparted through regular classes which provides an extensive and strong understanding of the course. Apart from this, it offers personal interaction and customised guidance to strengthen the concepts and develop a bond between students and teachers. Also, the academic environment gives valuable exposure and breeds a healthy competition and teamwork among the learners. In conclusion, both the ways of acquiring education have their own benefits. The ultimate goal is to gain a higher degree and therefore either can be used, depending on the learners' needs and situation.