Companies often advertise their merchandise as having novel features.

Companies often advertise their merchandise as having novel features. The reason for this is that product differentiation is often critical to convincing consumers to purchase. This is a progressive development as it leads to more informed consumers. The motivation for commercials to highlight product innovations is to persuade consumers to purchase the featured products. By communicating the unique features of a product consumers may be convinced to purchases it. This is because they will see the featured product as being better than others. For instance, every time Apple releases a new version of their I-phone the new features of it are clearly articulated to potential purchasers. This highlights the value that can be derived from upgrading your phone to the latest version of the Apple brand, which increases the likelihood of a purchase. This is phenomenon is highly beneficial to consumers as they become more informed shoppers. By having the information about a products unique and novel features savvy consumers are able to make product comparisons and choose the exact product that best suits their unique circumstances. For instance, I purchased an I-phone 12 because I saw that it has the highest camera resolution of all phones currently available. As an amateur photographer, the purchase of this phone ensures that I can take the best photos possible with a smartphone, and this feature was well worth the high price tag to me. In conclusion, companies are choosing to advertise the new features of their products as a way of convincing shoppers to purchase their products. This is a highly constructive phenomenon as it is leading to more informed consumers who are making better purchasing decisions.