Commuting by public transport is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be improved?

As climate change and global warming are becoming more serious, travelling by public transports seems to be one of the environmentally friendly solutions to those problems. This form of transportation, however, still has not reached its popularity in various places. This essay will point out the causes of this situation and suggest some solutions to it. One of the main causes of this problem might lies in poor transportation planning. In many big cities, there is a lack of lanes for public transport, which has caused difficulties for public means of transport like buses or undergrounds to move within the cities. This is a big minus to many people as they tend to prefer the fastest and most convenient way of travelling. The best solution to this problem would be for the government to better plan the roads and establish separated lanes for public transports. Another possible cause of this problem is the lack of knowledge on the impact personal transportations on the environment. It seems that many people are still neither aware of the current climate crisis, nor acknowledge that the fumes their cars and motorbikes produce can have a detrimental impact on the environment. Therefore, they might not consider commuting by public transports to reduce the negative impact on the environment. To tackle this issue, people should be informed about the impacts of climate change through different platforms such as social media or televisions, so that they would be more aware of the situation and take actions against it. In conclusion, using public transports are still one of the easiest ways to reduce the impacts on the environment. Therefore, changes should be made to improve the overall popularity of these means of transport. It is my firm belief this requires the responsibilities from both citizens and the government.