community work as alternative for prison

Certain prisoners could perform unpaid community work, instead of being put into a prison cell. I agree with this statement, because said criminals are able to reflect on their actions. Still, the severity of the committed crime must be taken into account. The general idea behind community work in combination with crimes committed is, to reflect on the harm that was done. If someone committs a crime like vandalism and is put behind bars, they are more likely to commit this crime again when set free. A better alternative could be, to make them clean up the mess they have made. By doing so, the prisoners are directly in touch with what they have done and are able to experience the amount of work they have caused. In many countries this is already a real practice for minor crimes. Furthermore, physical work is proven to be better for the prisoners mental health. Some people have turned crazy sitting in captivity. They are also able to benefit the community they previously have put harm to. In this case, both parties benefit from this type of punishment. However, only prisoners charged with minor crimes, like drug abuse should be eligeble for such alternative punishments. People considered pedophiles or murderers should not be allowed to do so, as the crimes they have committed are extremely severe. In addition to that, the more dangerous criminals are also thought to be more likely to try to escape or commit their crimes once again. When the severity of an offence is taken into account and the community work benefits previously harmed people, buildings or public spaces, the idea of this alternative has nothing standing in its way. In my opinion, this is a more humane alternative to putting people behind bars.